Which third-country nationals are required to have a visa?

The Amsterdam Treaty, which came into force on 1st May 1999 harmonised the visa rules applying to travel for non-EU nationals. EU Member States with the exception of the United Kingdom and Ireland which, on the basis of a protocol annexed to the Treaty of Amsterdam, maintain autonomous visa, immigration and asylum policies are precluded from unilaterally determining the visa rules related to short-term stays for nationals of any third country.

Bound by Regulation (EC) No 539/2001, modified by Regulation n 2414/2001 and by Regulation n 453/2003, the list of third-countries whose nationals are subject to the visa requirement, when travelling to Malta and/or any other EU Member State is as follows:

GRENADA

AFGHANISTAN ALBANIA ALGERIA ANGOLA ANTIGUA AND BARBUDA HAITI ARMENIA AZERBAIJAN BAHAMAS BAHRAIN BANGLADESH BARBADOS BELARUS BELIZE BENIN BHUTAN BOSNIA-HERZEGOVINA BOTSWANA BURKINA FASO BURMA/MYANMAR BURUNDI CAMBODIA CAMEROON CAPE VERDE CENTRAL AFRICAN REP CHAD **CHINA** COLOMBIA COMOROS CONGO COTE D'IVOIRE **CUBA** DEM REP OF CONGO DJIBOUTI DOMINICA DOMINICAN REPUBLIC **ECUADOR** EGYPT EQUATORIAL GUINEA ERITREA **ETHIOPIA**

GUINEA GUINEA-BISSAU GUYANA INDIA INDONESIA IRAN IRAQ JAMAICA JORDAN KAZAKHSTAN KENYA **KIRIBATI KUWAIT** KYRGYZSTAN LAOS LEBANON LESOTHO LIBERIA LIBYA MADAGASCAR MALAWI MALDIVES MALI MARSHALL ISLANDS MAURITANIA MAURITIUS MICRONESIA MOLDOVA MONGOLIA MONTENEGRO MOROCCO MOZAMBIQUE NAMIBIA NAURU NEPAL NIGER NIGERIA NORTH KOREA

PHILIPPINES OATAR RUSSIA RWANDA SAMOA SAO TOME & PRINCIPE SAUDI ARABIA SENEGAL SERBIA SEYCHELLES SIERRA LEONE SOLOMON ISLANDS SOMALIA SOUTH AFRICA SRI LANKA ST KITTS & NEVIS ST LUCIA ST VINCENT **SUDAN SURINAME SWAZILAND SYRIA** TAJIKISTAN TANZANIA THAILAND TIMOR-LESTE TOGO TONGA **TRINDAD & TOBAGO** TUNISIA TURKEY TURKMENISTAN TUVALU UGANDA UKRAINE UNITED ARAB EMIRATES **UZBEKISTAN** VANUATU VIETNAM YEMEN

FIJI	NORTHERN MARIANAS (IS)	ZAMBIA
FYROM	OMAN	ZIMBABWE
GABON	PAKISTAN	
GAMBIA	PALAU	
GEORGIA	PAPUA NEW GUINEA	
GHANA	PERU	

A limited set of **derogations** and exceptions exist for specific categories of persons, notably on grounds of international law or custom. Member States may therefore exempt from the requirement to carry an EU visa, or reintroduce the visa obligation when they would otherwise be exempted, the following categories of persons:

- holders of diplomatic passports, official duty passports and other official passports;
- civilian air and sea crew;
- flight crew and attendants on emergency or rescue flights and other helpers involved in disaster or emergency relief;
- the civilian crew of ships navigating in international waters;
- the holders of laissez-passer issued by some intergovernmental organisations to their officials.